How Writing Will Buy Me A House In 2023

Ted Moreno
3 min readJan 9, 2023

A few years ago, I hit the all too common plateau.

Photo by Jacqueline Day on Unsplash

Work was unfilling, my prospects were dim, and my last relationship was a trainwreck.

Life wasn’t what it could have and should have been. That realization prompted me to do the unthinkable.

Quit my job, become a writer, and earn that tasty internet money everyone is always talking about.

Around a year later, mid-pandemic, the opportunity to quit and do this full-time presented itself. And so I did it; I became a full-time writer and sussy imposter.

Finding your place on the internet

I’ve undergone many transformations as a writer in the last couple of years.

At first, I worked on travel pieces for a content mill.

Next, I became an independent writer on Medium, discussing anything that interested me. After writing about my weight loss journey, it felt like I could make a full-time income here. But that bubble burst.

Through UpWork, I started carving out a niche business in SaaS and project management. This turned out to be quite interesting (and profitable), so I doubled down and found a few clients in this area.

--

--

Ted Moreno

Building focus thieves and making internet content better for everyone. Weekly newsletter: www.focusthieves.com