The Opposite of Minimalism Saved My Mental Health

The simple truth about learning your needs, the long way.

Ted Moreno
5 min readFeb 13, 2022
Photo by Artem Podrez from Pexels

Unintentionally, I’ve always been a minimalist.

This wasn’t some choice I made to give up earthly possessions to find my inner peace. It was down to my insatiable appetite to move house twice a year.

I could not settle anywhere.

In November 2020, I moved into a new flat in a city, ready to start fresh, just like I did 6 months prior. This time, however, I stayed. I’m still here.

For most people, 14 months in the same place isn’t that strange, but it’s a huge deal for me. I’ve even started buying things. Tatty things that people only buy to make their house look like a home.

My routine was destructive, and boy did I feel it

Moving house is supposed to be one of the most stressful events a person can go through. Do you know how to make it less stressful? Do it 24 times in 10 years.

The first time I moved was for the same reason everyone else did. I moved away to college hours away from my hometown. We lived somewhere different every year until most of my college roommates moved away.

--

--

Ted Moreno

Building focus thieves and making internet content better for everyone. Weekly newsletter: www.focusthieves.com